Classpages Email us Home Page

Meet the Governors

Governors at Clapham CofE (VC)  Primary School


The governing body is made up of 9 governors in total who also form the part of the finance committee.


The committee and full governors meet once a term in school with the headteacher.  We presently have three vacancies on the school governing bod (one LA governor,  co-opted governor and a parent governor.)



The Governing Body


Mr. Michael Ravey - Chair Of Governors (parent)

(Safeguarding and SEN) 

Meetings attended 100%

Mr. Ravey is a parent governor and has a child in KS2.  Mr. Ravey is experienced in Education and has a specialist interest in SEND / Vulnerable Groups.  Mr Ravey is our Link Governor for SEND and has no pecuniary interest

 Term 29.09.16 - 29.9.20


LA Governor



Mrs. Elizabeth Greenbank - Foundation Governor

(Link Governor for Sustainability SDP priority 3)

New Governor for 2017/2018

Mrs. Greenbank does not have a term of office as she is a foundation governor.  Elizabeth works in a senior role in the NHS and lives locally. 

 Term 17.7.17 - 17.7.21


Miss Marilyn Galpin - Co-opted Governor

(Progress SDP priority 1 Link Governor)

Meetings attended 100%

Miss Galpin has worked in the education sector and has experience with business and finance. Her term of office ends in 2019. Miss Galpin was co-opted as a governor following a skills audit and now is a link governor for Pupil Progress.  She has no pecuniary interests in the school. 

Term 26.2.15 - 26.2.19


Mrs. Samantha Mattinson - Staff Governor

Meetings attended 100%

Sam is a Teaching Assistant working across the school.  She lives in Burton in Lonsdale, a small village just off the A65.  Sam was elected onto the governing body in April 2016.  Sam's term of office comes to an end in April 2020.  Sam has no pecuniary interests in the school.

Term 19.10.17 - 19.10.18



Mrs. Angela Martin - Co-opted Governor

New Governor for 2017/2018 

(Angela is the Link governor for Curriculum SDP Priority 2)

Angie works in Education and lives locally. She contributes to the Local village newsletter and enjoys village life!

Term 17.7.17 - 17.7.21


Mr. Matthew Armstrong - Headteacher 

Meetings attended 100%

Mr. Armstrong is the school headteacher and joins the governing body for each meeting to keep them informed of the schools progress. Mr. Armstrong has no pecuniary interest in the school.


Mrs. Anne Pybus - Clerk to Governors

Meetings attended 100%

Mrs. Pybus is our Clerk, she is also our school administrator.  Mrs. Pybus is related to one of our caretakers, Mr. Pybus and has no pecuniary interest in the school.

Our Clerk can be reached on 015242 51371



Rev. Tim - Foundation Governor (Temporary)

Rev Tim joins the governing body temporarily until a new vicar arrives in Clapham.  


Picture 1